Week in View (9/30-10/6–IMPORTANT Weds. Night and Sun. Morning Announcements)

  • Weds: Life Groups at Church for COOKOUT (burgers provided), but there will be NO SERVICE, only discussion questions provided for groups. This will JUST be a time a space for the Life Groups to get together and eat and have discussion, and to make sure people who couldn’t make it last week don’t fall through the cracks.
    • NEEDS:
      • SnacksNo one has yet signed up for snacks for this Wednesday, so if someone is willing to provide chips and/or a[nother] side that would go with the burgers, please let me know.
      • Life Group Venues: Parents, please email me to let me know if you are willing to have Life Groups meet at your house on a Wednesday night. I need to have a running list of places for groups to alternate, which I will pass on to Life Group leaders. Also, please indicate if you would be willing to provide meals or snacks on those Wednesdays. I would love for parents to actually eat with the Life Groups (email responses: jeremys@faclex.com).
  • Thurs: Week 4 Family Devotional (on blog) – Series: King David: Man of Passions & God of Grace 
  • Sun: DISCUSSION BASED GATHERING on Sundays from now on. 
    • We are transitioning to a more discussion based time for Sunday mornings. My assumption since the Parent Lunch is that if students are coming to the Youth Service, it means they (or at least most of them) have gone to first service with families. I am in agreement with a few parents who have shared their concerns: (1) students should not sit through two sermons back-to-back and (2) kids worshiping with parents takes precedence over kids coming to the youth service. So, again, if I could encourage you that if you only come second service, please worship together as a family, and know that I will by and large no longer be providing a formal worship service but rather a discussion based service.
6 thoughts on “Week in View (9/30-10/6–IMPORTANT Weds. Night and Sun. Morning Announcements)

  1. Jeremy,
    I’m still not getting blog notifications sent to my new email. I’ve entered it a 3rd time just now. So, I’m just hearing about needed sides. I have one bag of chips I can send. and I might get a batch of brownies in the oven.
    Amy

    1. Okay, I just got an email that indicates you have subscribed to the blog (the first one I’ve gotten for you new email address), so I’m thinking it worked. Still don’t know why it didn’t work last time(s). Me trying to figure out the problem of computers is like a mosquito figure out the problem of evil…or a man trying to figure out the problem of evil…or a man trying to figure out the problem of mosquitoes…or a mosquito trying to figure out the problem of itself…or a man trying to figure out the problem of himself. You get the picture.

      Thanks for the chips and potential brownies!

Leave a Reply

